The 2020 BRIT Awards

February 19th 2020

The biggest night in British music took place at London’s O2 arena last night, and this year’s BRIT Awards were certainly a night to remember.

Hosted by Jack Whitehall, the evening was abuzz with political statements – as has become the trend during awards season these days – and brilliant performances by the likes of Harry Styles, Stormzy and Billie Eilish, who sang her new Bond theme, No Time to Die in the track’s live debut.

Lewis Capaldi walked away with the most awards of the night, nabbing trophies for Best New Artist and Song of the Year.

Did you know the following trivia about one of the biggest nights in the creative calendar?

  • This year marked the 40th year of the iconic awards ceremony
  • BRITS stands for British Record Industry Trust Show
  • The first ceremony was held in 1977 in honour of Her Majesty The Queen
  • Through its fundraising initiatives over the years, the BRITS have raised £22 million for charity
  • The BRIT school for aspiring artists, run by the BRIT Trust, has a very well-known alumna – the unstoppable Adele completed the course in 2006
  • The most decorated artist in BRITS history is Robbie Williams
  • The iconic BRITS awards statue is modelled after – you guessed it – Britannia
  • Geri Halliwell’s iconic Union Jack dress sold at auction in 1998 for £41,320

Here is a full list of last night’s winners:

Male Solo Artist


Harry Styles

Lewis Capaldi

Michael Kiwanuka

Stormzy – WINNER

Female Solo Artist

Charli XCX

FKA twigs

Freya Ridings

Mabel – WINNER


Best Group


Bring Me the Horizon


D-Block Europe

Foals – WINNER

Best New Artist



Lewis Capaldi – WINNER


Sam Fender

Rising Star

Celeste (winner, previously announced)

Song of the Year (Voted by the Academy)

AJ Tracey – “Ladbroke Grove”

Calvin Harris and Rag’n’Bone Man – “Giant”

Dave and Burna Boy – “Location”

Ed Sheeran and Justin Bieber – “I Don’t Care”

Lewis Capaldi  – “Someone You Loved” – WINNER

Mabel – “Don’t Call Me Up”

Mark Ronson and Miley Cyrus – “Nothing Breaks Like a Heart”

Sam Smith and Normani – “Dancing With a Stranger”

Stormzy – “Vossi Bop”

Tom Walker – “Just You and I”

Mastercard Album of the Year

Dave – Psychodrama – WINNER

Harry Styles – Fine Line

Lewis Capaldi – Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent

Michael Kiwanuka – Kiwanuka 

Stormzy – Heavy is the Head

International Male Solo Artist

Bruce Springsteen

Burna Boy

Dermot Kennedy

Post Malone

Tyler, the Creator – WINNER

International Female Solo Artist

Ariana Grande

Billie Eilish – WINNER

Camila Cabello

Lana Del Rey